Getting Realistic with Goal Setting + 1,000 Views!

hellothere!gifofficial

Welcome back to my blog! Before we start this post, I wanted to thank you so much for 1,000 views and 30 followers. I would never dream having so many people viewing blog, and I’m so thankful and grateful for each and every one of you who takes time out of your day to visit my blog and read my posts. My initial goal for August was to gain 40 followers, and we’re almost there. If you know of anyone who would enjoy the content on my blog, please share it with them! And if you haven’t already, please take my blog survey. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Again, thanks! ❤ 

navyblushdivider

Okay, now let’s get into the post! Summer is more than half-way over and I wanted to talk with you today about Getting Realistic with Goal Setting, since back-to-school is coming up fairly quickly (I really didn’t want to type that 😬 I’m very sorry if you didn’t want to be reminded of school.) Please accept my apology. Anyways, in the next few weeks I will be posting tons (#procrastination) of back-to-school themed posts, so keep an eye out for those!

*That was one long sentence – 49 words. Apparently you understand 90% of what is written is 14 words, and after 42 words, comprehension drops to 10% via. Soooo I hope you understood what I just said!

navyblushdivider

I’m going to share with you 5 different questions to ask yourself about your goals. I want you to take these approaches at your goals and re-think why you’ve set them.

1. Is your goal realistic? In other words, is this goal something you are actually able to do? For some people, goals may be hard to accomplish. It may be because it isn’t a realistic goal. E.g., “I want to fly to the moon!” or “Be a famous singer”.* Don’t get me wrong. These goals aren’t impossible to accomplish. They’re just a lot harder to. Remember when setting goals to make sure they are realistic.

2. Is your goal manageable? For example, let’s say one of your goals is to read the whole Bible in 1 week. How easy does that sound? You might be able to do it, without taking time to sleep, eat, and do the other normal stuff you do. Basically, that goal isn’t going to be able to be completed. You may have learned some, but taking a lot in at one time just crams your brain and isn’t helpful. Plus, you’ll be left tired, hungry, and not ready to face the next day. Don’t feel bad if it takes you a huge amount of time to do something. Start small, and work your way up.

3. Is your goal specific? Or is it vast? Don’t set a goal that is all over the board, per se. Focus on one thing, and try to complete that one thing. For example, “My goal is to make the world a better place”. Instead of taking a mass approach, take it one little step at a time. “My goal is to make the world a better place by picking up litter“, for instance.

4. Is your goal relevant? Do you really need to have this goal? An example is “My goal is to listen to 100 different songs in one week”. Is this goal really worth the time and effort it takes to complete? Or would it be better to say, “My goal is to listen to 10 different songs this week while completing my history project“. Instead of jamming out to your favorite songs, focus on your school (etc.) When you’re all done your education, you’ll be glad you chose to study rather than listen to music in and of itself.

5. Is your goal meaningful? A good question to ask is “Will this goal help me in the long-run?” For example, reading five books on how to start a business is better than reading five comic books on how to fight a villain (lol.) Reading informative books will help you in life rather than reading just-for-pleasure ones.

*This quotation thing is getting on my nerves. Is the period supposed to go inside the quotation mark, or outside?

navyblushdivider

Take a step back. Look over the goals you have set. Are they realistic? Manageable? Specific? Relevant? Meaningful? If you set goals that are worth the time, effort, and energy it takes you to accomplish them – they might just have a lasting impact on your life. And those are the ones you want to keep 😉

letschat

What are some goals you have? Did you accomplish any of them yet? What are some ways that you can build toward accomplishing your goals? Thoughts on this?

signoffnewbuttercup

“Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth.” Colossians 3:2

One last thing before you go! If you didn’t know already, tomorrow is National S’mores Day. Eat everything s’more themed, because… well… why not? If you want some cool ideas, click here!

8 thoughts on “Getting Realistic with Goal Setting + 1,000 Views!

Leave a Reply

