BLOGGING 101: HOW I DO WHAT I DO PLUS TIPS FOR YOU + 50 BLOG POST IDEAS

DESIGN / ART, LIFE TIPS / HACKS, wellness

There are so many ways to run a blog. You may be wondering how I run my blog! How do I come up with post ideas? How do I create my featured images? How do I keep on top of everything? I’ll answer these questions and a whole lot more in this post. Stay tuned until the end to access the list of 50 Blog Post Ideas!

Minimal work space - Creative flat lay photo of workspace desk.

COMING UP WITH IDEAS

To be honest, it really depends when I come up with ideas. Sometimes I may be actually sitting down and planning, thinking about what I want to share with you, or an idea might just pop into my head. When I come up with an idea, I’ll write it down in my bullet journal, or jot it down on a post-it in Google Keep. I’ll find inspiration on Pinterest, from other blogs and websites, and then adapt them to make them unique. If I have an original idea, I’ll write it up write away before it slips my mind!

Where to find ideas: blog posts with lists of ideas, instagram, pinterest, other blog posts. Or, at the end of this post! 😉

photo-1500989145603-8e7ef71d639e

PLANNING + SCHEDULING

Planning your blog schedule is pretty vital. Because planning ahead takes a lot of effort, I’ll share a few of my tips. Once I know what I want to post for the month, I’ll go to Google Keep and write down the dates of the next four-five weeks (depending on the month), then enter the post title, respectively. This is so I know when I’m posting what and if I need to “schedule” them in case I’ll be away from a computer that specific time or day.

Schedule helpers: Google Keep, a blogging journal, a bullet journal, an academic journal, on your phone’s notes app, etc.

photo-1496389429868-ef51f7140b1e

WRITING THE POSTS

When writing the posts, I usually have a bullet point format list of what I want to put in it. Then I either leave it, or write it on the spot, depending on my schedule or amount of time I have. When it comes closer to the posting date, I’ll complete the post and format it completely. Then I’ll add graphics or pictures and all that fun stuff. Sometimes, if it doesn’t contain a lot of graphics and images, I’ll sit down, write the post, and then go over and edit and format it right then and there. If a post isn’t working for me, or if I have a case of writer’s block, I’ll leave it temporarily and start a new one.

Where to write your posts: in the post format, on Word, or in Google Docs (copy and paste into the post format)

artem-sapegin-176819-unsplash

CREATING THE GRAPHICS

Usually right when I format the posts, I create the graphics so that I’m not stressing out about having to create them the night before publishing. 😛 I pick a photo or upload one that I’ve taken to my favorite design website, then add the overlays and text. I export it and upload it right away to the post draft. If I have any more graphics I need to make, I’ll usually create them and upload them at the same time. Usually my posts contain the minimal amount of graphics, saving time and eye-sore.

Websites to use to make your graphics: Programs: Canva, PicMonkey, and BeFunky. Pictures: Unsplash, Pexels, Pixabay.

pexels-photo.jpg

INTERACTING

Interacting with your readers, followers, and other bloggers is a huge part of having a blog. You need to get yourself out there, and interacting is a great way to do that. When people comment on one of my posts, I’ll try to respond right away If they tell me to visit their blog or a post, I’ll also try to do that immediately, because if I don’t, I’ll easily forget. So I comment and say that “I’ll check it out”, I want to be true to my word and actually do that 😉

Ways interact: in the comment section, through the contact form, and on other blogs and sites, such as social media platforms.

kaitlyn-baker-422999-unsplash

DEALING WITH ISSUES

Thankfully, I haven’t had to deal with too many, or for that matter, any issues such as rude comments or inappropriate language. It’ll probably come one time or another, because that’s life! :/ If there are any errors people bring up with my content, I’ll look at the problem and try to solve it to the best of my ability. If you encounter a problem, here is a simple way to deal with it:

Ways to deal with issues: ignore or delete the comment, email, or text if it is inappropriate or rude.

pexels-photo-607812

NOTIFICATIONS

As a follower, you know that you get an email from the default WordPress reader every time I post. However, I also use MailChimp as a personalized “reader” for my readers! It’s a simple, easy, and free mailing list platform. (If you’re not signed up yet to my list, please do!)

Platforms to use for post notifications: the default WordPress reader, MailChimp, FeedBurner, Bloglovin’ or any social media platform, such as Instagram or Twitter.

pexels-photo-280254

KEEPING UP WITH EVERYTHING

Life happens. Things get busy. When things get tough, don’t feel like you have to post orr respond to comments. If you miss a post, don’t stress out. People totally understand. However, if you can, don’t ever leave your blog for a long time without letting your readers know. If you’re leaving on a hiatus, give them a heads up. If you’re leaving for a long period of time for personal or unforeseen or disclosed reasons, also let them know. You don’t want them thinking you’ve vanished forever!

How to let your readers know you’re leaving for a break: in a post, on a social media update, or in an email.

christian-stahl-313383-unsplash

STAYING YOU

I KNOW, I know. This is so cliché. But honestly, I cannot stress this enough! Blogging is about being yourself. That should be every bloggers’ goal. From post ideas, to content; from their design, to their mission and their focus. There will always be a time when you feel like you can’t be unique, different, or stand out. But don’t worry. As long as you stick to your own schedule, do what you love, and share your own voice, you’re well on your way to stand out from the crowd! As the saying goes, “Be a Fruit Loop in a bowl of Cheerios”! XD

How to stay you: always look for new ideas in weird, obscure places – they’re bound to be uncommon!

pinkdivi

67da01e4-6c3a-4da2-89f5-daa6cdc164dd

I know that was a ton of information! I hope it helped (and not overwhelmed) you. To give you a little head start and motivation, I’ve compiled a list of 50 different blog post ideas! You can view the list by clicking here.

pinkdivi

I hope you’ve gained some good insight from this post. If it helped you, be sure to share it. Thanks for reading, and have a fabulous day!

sidebarlabels7

21 thoughts on “BLOGGING 101: HOW I DO WHAT I DO PLUS TIPS FOR YOU + 50 BLOG POST IDEAS

  1. Rebecca, this post was SO HELPFUL for me, there are (a lot) of things I need to improve with blogging right now, and I will definitely be using this post as a guideline!
    Thank you again❤️
    Lydia

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for your insight on this topic. I am actually starting to cut back on blogging simply because this month is filled with other, extremely important FAMILY activities, and also because #school and you KNOW what school I go to. I was blog journaling a little bit to keep myself organized so I don’t go overboard in months like these, but my journal is too small so my friend secretly bought me a new one <3! I have not tried bullet journaling yet but some day I will have to….

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment